JABSOM Library: Integrative Medicine Resources: All About PubMed

PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to bibliographic citations to biomedical journal articles, including MEDLINE and additional life sciences journals. MEDLINE is NLM's database covering the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. MEDLINE contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from over 5,400 biomedical journals published in the United States and 70 other countries dating back to the 1940s. Updated 5 times/week. View this PubMed tutorial to learn more about what PubMed is!

Access PubMed from the Health Sciences Library or other UH Libraries websites to see the full-text availability icon.

Use the tabs at the top left to navigate through the pages of this guide. Tabs available:

Run a Search provides step-by-step instructions for running a search in PubMed, including inputting search terms, using filters to limit your search by language, age, and other common topics, viewing your results, printing/saving/emailing your citations, and finding the full-text of articles and order copies if needed.
Find Full-Text lists steps to follow to get a complete journal article from a PubMed citation.
Refine Searches provides:
- Quick PubMed Tips Refine Searches
- Hints for improving search results when finding too many or too few citations.
Find Evidence-Based Articles details three methods to limit your search results.
MeSH (Medical Subject Headings) is a list of keywords or descriptors that describe articles in MEDLINE. Using MeSH is an advanced way to identify search terms and focus your search.
Export Citations to Citation Managers such as EndNote, EndNote Basic, and Zotero.
FAQ

For comprehensive PubMed help, see PubMed Help (includes FAQs), visit the NLM Support Center (where you can Write to the help desk), or contact the library at hslinfo@hawaii.edu.

PubMed Workshop

PubMed Workshop (Sept 2021) from Health Sciences Library JABSOM on YouTube

Handouts

Thank you to the University of Washington Health Sciences Library for allowing us to use their guide as a template.